Ballina Tennis Club

Ballina Tennis Club

We look forward to welcoming everyone from 5 to 105, so what are you waiting for?

Also visit our instagram site #ballinatennis and Facebook page @playtennisballina  for more information

If new and want to join, please contact us.

We are situated on the corner of Burnet and Cherry Streets Ballina (Google Cherry Street Sports Club)

If after a casual game, please just go to Cherry Street Sports Club and ask to play (fees may apply).   Cherry Street Sports is OPEN from 9.00AM EVERY DAY

Currently we are unable to offer on line bookings, but courts are almost always available.  Also, have a look at our weekly events page and come along or call the contacts of these.  Courts may be used at organised times, but there is usually a spot for a casual hit.

We now have LED lighting which looks great.  There are new switches for all lights with instructions inside the light boxes. Please be sure to turn off lights and lock boxes after use. All lights are programmed to shut down automatically at 10.00 pm to comply with the Council lease agreement.

Please also contact our Coach who has some great casual competitions for all Adult and teenage levels on Tuesday nights and Wednesday night Adult social tennis for beginners (never too old).

There is junior training most days for all ages and talent squads as well as regular Saturday Competition starting as young as 5 up to late teen.

Don’t forget private lessons also, for any age.

We look forward to seeing you.


These can be found in our calendar of events

If you are a member, we shall keep you informed of events, activities, and happenings. If not we hope this website might encourage you to join us on our courts, if not as a member, at least to play tennis either privately or by joining some of the club’s programs as a guest. Members do have a number of advantages, including discounted rates for play and coaching, and insurance through Tennis NSW. Learners, for whom coaching is available, and visitors to Ballina are equally welcome, whether as members or otherwise.

We have over 350 members of all ages and abilities, and there are plenty of opportunities for everyone to play on one of our eleven synthetic grass courts throughout the week from early morning to 9.30 pm. If our clubhouse is unattended, a key to the courts can be obtained from the Cherry Street Bowling Club, which handles all public bookings and is our major sponsor.

We should like to acknowledge here the assistance provided by Paradise FM radio, the Northern Star, and the Ballina Advocate.

Details of fees, programs, coaching, and contact persons can be easily found in the following pages.

Our club is located on the corner of Cherry and Burnet Streets, immediately south of the Bowling Club.



The club is managed by a committee of up to ten members, elected at the Annual General Meeting in February, headed by four office bearers.

The committee normally meets on the third Wednesday of each month at 7.00 pm, and any member is welcome to attend as an observer.

The club employs a part time groundsman/ part time cleaner, as well as a coaching professional by contract.

The club operates under a constitution ratified by the New South Wales Incorporation Act of 2009

The club has an alcohol and smoking management policy in line with the Good Sports program run by the Australian Drug & Alcohol Foundation. The policy can be viewed here: Alcohol & Smoking Policy

President  –   Graham Keam

Vice President   –   Mikko Helle

Secretary   –  Karina Vikstrom

Treasurer –  Colin Webster

Committee    –     Merilyn Igoe, Leanne Nelson,  Jill Sloan, Jordan Stotter, Margaret Oldham, Adam Jorgensen and  Brandon Rowe (coach and non voting member)